I've definitely been feeling stronger and having more stamina since returning to the gym. I walked the dogs yesterday. A walk that I could barely do a month ago. One that left me in a lot of pain was suddenly (dare I say) EASY for me. I've also been able to stand still longer. Something that was incredibly difficult for me just a little bit ago.
Back in November I was seriously worried I would need to use my big chair again. Not that that's a bad thing. But it just means my muscles were very weak and I was feeling like I might need the extra help. We started bringing my travel chair with us wherever we went.
All of this is leading me to weight loss.
I'm not going to the gym for weight loss. But to be stronger, more flexible, keep my muscles from atrophy and for my mental health. It's a special time set aside just for me and my body.
But I'm also not stupid. I know that the less weight I have, the less strain on my already compromised joints and muscles.
My food craving have been just horrible as well. You would think the more I indulged them the quieter they would get? But I really think the opposite is true. So I asked my doctor for help (now I sound like one of those awful commercials.)
My beautiful $149 pill bottle
(with personal information omitted)
But I really did though. I asked if I could try the new Wegovy weight loss pill. All the others until now have been injections. I did try Zepbound injection a while back. The side effects were awful. I just felt like my digestion completely stopped.
I'm hoping that the brand and delivery change will be helpful. So far I have noticed a bit more burping and farting. But then again I am old. Hahahah. My doctor said she only had one other patient on it and that they were doing very well. The pharmacy told me that I'm the first for them and I'm to report back how it goes. So I'm a bit of a pioneer.
LOTS of warning labels, but this aint my first rodeo.
Last night I had bad dry mouth. But that could have been from my fan blowing right in my face or allergies. I get dry mouth a lot, but it hasn't been that bad since I took Baclofen three times a day for muscle pain.
I hate to say it, but at 3:30 when I couldn't go back to sleep I paid the Devil his due (Amazon) and signed up for a one month prime membership. Just so I could get my dry mouth tablets (Zylomelt) delivered next day. I needed them bad for tonight. I'm not doing that again. Although I HATE giving the big A any money, my health needs come first.
My nightly ritual
I was a bit stunned to learn you have to take Wegovy in a very specific way. First thing in the morning with 4oz of water exactly. Then you must stay upright for 30min. You can't eat or drink anything while the drug is absorbed in your stomach.
I measure out my water the night before and set the bottle next to it. Right after I take it I set a timer for 30min and keep myself busy. Blog, walk the dogs, write in my journal, tidy up. Man when that alarm goes off I am READY for coffee and water.
You're also supposed to have tiny meals, the first one being bland. Like a dry piece of toast or crackers or something. I'm already finding myself eating very small meals through the day. I think that could have been one of my mistakes on Zepbound. I didn't change my eating at all, then all that food just clogged up my gut.
Like the pharmacy, I'll report how it goes.
Today is day 3.
















